Using Manga for Learning

I stumbled upon these books that use manga to teach a wide range of subjects. I wish I had such books at my disposal in high school. It would have made my learn experience much more enjoyable. Learning through a medium one has interests in would surely cause a lot less rage quitting than the mundane ritual we all go through in school. While these originate from Japan some have been officially translated and published in English. I have even heard of high schools cataloguing these books in their libraries.

Here’s a google translated link of Amazon Japan’s search results with some surprisingly advanced topics such as:

Thermodynamics

Fourier Analysis

Environmental Engineering

Fluid mechanics

Now I’m not saying these are great replacements for textbooks. Provided all the information in them are factual, I think books like these will offer excellent introduction or supplemental material for their respective subjects. Unconventional? Maybe. Useful? I think so.

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Using Manga for Learning

  1. Okazaki-san says:

    Definitely useful,since the Physics book I picked up helped me from a failing grade in Physics.

  2. Ningyo says:

    Fascinating. I’ve seen similar in China, but I think those were imposters. Though, I can’t quite put my finger on who that blond twin-tailed one in the first book looks like… Shidou Mariya? But well, they’re all a mash of character tropes anyways. At first, I thought it said ‘come inside’ in the corner.

    • sloth says:

      A Tenga disguised as a book? I think we’re on to something here.

      I can’t imagine Chinese kids would have uses for these sorts of books though. These are likely too basic for their needs.

Leave a Reply

