WTF? Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuutsu Season TWO?

About 2 weeks back a lot of noise began over a wakayama tv listing for the current re-airing of the Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuutsu series, the Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. What people saw, for May 24, was episode 8 “Bamboo Leaf Rhapsody”, which was NOT a season one episode.

20090517_haruhi02

(25:10      Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuutsu, Sasa no Ha Rhapsody)

Funnily enough, about a day later the listing was reduced giving no indication of which episode was due to air. Kadokawa, the production company who have control of the puppet strings (and the moula) have stifled all rumours about season two, up to now.

I don’t know why, but last night at 1am Tokyo time, a new episode of Haruhi was aired. 2ch went ballistic, and now there is a mad rush to release a sub. Youtube is probably getting a run as well.

Personally, when I started out with the whole anime watching thing, Haruhi was one of the big series which really got my attention. It was awesome, and had a lingering effect as people who know me…know, however I cannot help but feel betrayed by Kadokawa. Here we are, after 3 years, finally with a new episode, but there was no hype, there has been no advertising promoting the series, no previews, nothing. It aired at 1AM for pete’s sake. People waiting loyally (or whatever) for 3 years, and then airing it at 1am, its as if you want people to download it, rather then watch it first hand. Not that I could of seen it on the TV anyway, but that’s not the point. I just wish the series had the promotion it deserved, because I fear now it will be a series only the dedicated fans will watch, since everyone else gave up 2 years ago.

*sigh*

I am still waiting on the subs to release, so I guess I’ll hold making any real conclusions until after I’ve watched.

©Kadokawa 2009

©Kadokawa 2009

This entry was posted in Anime and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

